Catalyst Program

     Catalyst Timeline - Click Here

     Overview - Click Here

      FAQ - Click Here

Established by Congress in 2008, the Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) is a partnership between the federal government and the States of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. The mission of the NBRC is to fund economic development and infrastructure projects throughout designated counties in its four-state service area. The NBRC partnership provides investments to job-creating projects that help reduce poverty, unemployment, and outmigration.  NBRC investment funds originate from the Federal Government but are approved by the Federal Government’s NBRC representative (Federal Co-Chair) and the Governors of the four States.

Commission Service Area (updated yearly)
Only projects within the NBRC’s service area are eligible for funding under 40 U.S.C. §15733.

Catalyst Program Eligible Applicants

  • State governments of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York
  • Local governments (village, town, city and county)
  • Other political subdivisions of States (regional planning commissions, authorities of the state)
  • Indian Tribes; § 200.54 Indian tribe (or “federally recognized Indian tribe”). Indian tribe means any Indian tribe, band, nation, or other organized group or community, including any Alaska Native village or regional or village corporation as defined in or established pursuant to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act ( 43 U.S.C. Chapter 33), which is recognized as eligible for the special programs and services provided by the United States to Indians because of their status as Indians ( 25 U.S.C. 450b(e)). See annually published Bureau of Indian Affairs list of Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services
  • Non-profit entities. The term ‘nonprofit entity’ means any organization described in section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and exempt from taxation under 501(a) of that Code. The non-profit entity must be able to demonstrate they have federal grant experience and organization capacity related to economic development.

Catalyst Program Ineligible Applicants

  • Ineligible applicants include for-profit entities, LLCs and other entities that are not a 501(c), 40 U.S.C. §15101(c). Ineligible entities are also those entities normally deemed eligible but, due to prior federal or state funding history have been identified as ineligible for future investments. Additionally, a non-profit identified by a state that does not have a federally recognized 501(c) status is not an eligible applicant. 

Catalyst Program Decision Making Process
Consensus between the four State Governors and the Federal Co-Chair based on applications being prioritized by the States.  State economic development plans influence decision-making as does the NBRC’s Five Year Strategic Plan.

Examples of investments in years past-
You can find a listing of funding recipients by year on each State page: MaineNew HampshireVermont, and New York.

The NBRC will post updates to our website, and share details through stakeholders, press outlets, and other channels as soon as further information is available.

Questions regarding NBRC’s programs should be directed to Program Director Andrea Smith via