The NBRC can invest in economic and infrastructure projects in the following Maine counties: Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington. Depending on the level of economic and demographic distress in each county, NBRC funded projects can be eligible for up to an 80% matching grant.

How much has the NBRC invested in Maine?

NBRC investments in Maine from 2010-2017: 34 awards totaling $8,080,671
Matching funds for NBRC investments from 2010-2017: $27,434,410

Where have NBRC investments in Maine been made?

Below is a listing of NBRC funded projects in Maine by year‚Äč

Who Represents Maine on the Commission?

The Pine Tree State is represented on the Commission by Governor Janet Mills who, with the Governors of New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York, collectively prioritize NBRC applications. They, along with the Federal Co-Chair, approve NBRC funding requests.


Governor Mills is represented on the NBRC by her chosen Alternate, Heather Johnson, Commissioner of the Department of Economic and Community Development.  The Alternate assigns most NBRC partnership duties to Charlotte Mace, NBRC Program Manager at the Maine Department of Economic and Community Development.  

It's strongly recommended that applicants for NBRC funding contact Ms. Mace about their projects in advance of submitting an application.  

Ms. Mace can be reached by phone at (207) 624-7448 or by email at