Local Development Districts

The NBRC Federal-State partnership is aided by a group of regional organizations called Local Development Districts (LDD's) that assist the NBRC in its outreach activities and administer NBRC investments for grantees.  LDD's provide feedback to the Commission on its current programs as well as assist in identifying future areas of focus for the Commission.  LDD's are either an already existing federally designated Economic Development District, as certified by the US Economic Development Administration or an organization similar in nature to a regional planning commission. 

LDD's are knowledgeable about other Federal and State programs that help fund economic and community development projects. They are aware of local concerns as most engage in regional economic development planning of varying degrees.  

LDD Grant Administration

All LDDs have been certified by the NBRC as being proficient in administering Commission funds for grantees.  In order to compensate the LDDs for that administrative work, grant administrative fees will be paid from the awarded funds. The formula for determining project administration fees is 5% of the first $100,000 awarded and 1% of all dollars in excess of $100,000. By example, a $250,000 award would include $6,500 in LDD project administration fees, thereby making $243,500 available for the purpose of the award. This does not apply to Vermont only projects.

To Find Your LDD
  • NBRC's Local Developement Districts are listed below with the counties and municipalities they cover.
  • The NBRC has created an online mapping resource to assist applicants to identify their Local Development Districts. Once there, click "Details" in the upper left hand corner for easy-to-use instructions on manipulating the map.  

Maine's Local Development Districts
  • Northern Maine Development Commission
    Website: www.nmdc.org
    Regional Plan: Aroostook-Washington Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    NBRC Coverage Area:  Aroostook and Washington counties
    Contact: Robert Clark, Executive Director
    (207) 493-5762 or rclark@nmdc.org
  • Eastern Maine Development Corporation
    Website: www.emdc.org
    Regional Plan: Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    NBRC Coverage Area: Hancock, Penobscot, and Piscataquis counties as well as the Waldo County municipalities of Belfast, Frankfort, Knox, Liberty, Monroe, Morrill, Montville, Prospect, Searsport, Stockton Springs, and Winterport.
    Contact: Vicki Rusbult, Economic Development Coordinator
    (800) 339-6389 or vrusbult@emdc.org
  • Kennebec Valley Council of Governments
    Website: www.kvcog.org
    Regional Plan: Kennebec Valley Economic Development Strategy
    ​NBRC Coverage Area: Kennebec and Somerset counties as well as well as the Waldo County municipalities of Burnham, Freedom, Palermo, Thorndike, Troy, and Unity
    Contact: Cary Tyson, Community & Economic Development Specialist   (207) 453-4258 or ctyson@kvcog.org                                                                                                                                 
  • Midcoast Council of Governments
    Website: www.mceddme.org
    Regional Plan: Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    ​NBRC Coverage Area: Knox County as well as the Waldo County municipalities of Belmont, Lincolnville, Northport, and Searsmont
    Contact: Bill Najpauer, Director of Planning & Development
    (207) 370-6045 or bnajpauer@mceddme.org
  • Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments
    Website:  www.avcog.org
    Regional Plan: Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    ​​NBRC Coverage Area: Androscoggin and Franklin counties as well as all of Oxford County EXCEPT for the municipalities of Denmark, Fryeburg, Hiram, Lovell, Porter, Stoneham, Stow, and Sweden
    Contact: Dina Jackson, Economic Development Specialist
    (207) 783-9186 or djackson@avcog.org
  • Southern Maine Planning and Development Commission
    Website: www.smpdc.org
    Regional Plan: Sustain Southern Maine: Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    NBRC Coverage Area: The Oxford County municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Fryeburg, Hiram, Lovell, Porter, Stoneham, Stow, and Sweden
    Contact: Chuck Morgan, Economic & Community Development Director
    (207) 571-7065 or cmorgan@smpdc.org

New Hampshire's Local Development Districts
  • North Country Council
    Website: www.nccouncil.org
    Regional Plan: NCC Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    NBRC Coverage Area: All of Coos County. The Grafton County municipalities of Plymouth, Groton, Campton, Rumney, Wentworth, Warren, Ellsworth, Thornton, Waterville Valley, Livermore, Lincoln, Woodstock, Benton, Haverhill, Bath, Landaff, Easton, Franconia, Sugar Hill, Lisbon, Lyman, Monroe, Littleton, and Bethlehem.  All the unorganized areas of Carroll County as well as the municipalities of Jackson, Chatham, Bartlett, Conway, Albany, Madison, and Eaton. 
    Contact: Michele Moren-Grey, Senior Economic Development Planner
    (603) 444-6303 or mmoren@nccouncil.org
  • Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Regional Planning Commission
    Website: www.uvlsrpc.org
    Regional Plan: UVLSRPC Regional Plan
    NBRC Coverage Area: All of Sullivan County as well as the Grafton County municipalities of Piermont, Orford, Lyme, Dorchester, Hanover, Canaan, Orange, Lebanon, Enfield, and Grafton. 
    Contact: Adam Ricker, Assistant Planner
    (603) 448-1680 or aricker@uvlsrpc.org
  • Lakes Region Planning Commission
    Website: www.lakesrpc.org
    Regional Plan: The Lakes Region Plan
    NBRC Coverage Area: The Grafton County municipalities of Holderness, Ashland, Bridgewater, Bristol, Hebron, and Alexandria.  The Carroll County municipalities of Sandwich, Moultonborough, Tamworth, Tuftonboro, Wolfeboro, Ossipee, Effingham, and Freedom. 
    Contact: Jeff Hayes, Executive Director
    (603) 279-5334 or jhayes@lakesrpc.org
  • Strafford Regional Planning Commission
    Website: www.strafford.org
    NBRC Coverage Area:  The Carroll County municipalities of Wakefield and Brookfield
    Contact: Cynthia Copeland, Executive Director
    (603) 994-3500 or sprc@strafford.org                                                                    
  • Southwest Regional Planning Commission

​            Website: http://www.swrpc.org  

            NBRC Coverage Area: Cheshire county
            Contact: Tim Murphy, Executive Director
            (603)357-0557 or admin@swrpc.org 

New York's Local Development Districts

Vermont's Local Development District
  • Northern Vermont Economic Development District
    Website: www.nvedd.org
    NBRC Coverage Area: Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orleans and Washington counties
    c/o Northwest Regional Planning Commission
    Contact: Greta Brunswick, Senior Planner
    (802) 524-5958 or gbrunswick@nrpcvt.com                                                      
  • ​​​Windham Regional Commission​​

           Website: www.windhamregional.org
           NBRC Coverage Area: Windham and Bennington Counties (As well as Weston, VT)
           Contact: Chris Company, Executive Director
           (802)257-4547 or ccampany@windhamregional.org

  • East Central Vermont Economic Development District

           ​Website: https://www.ecvedd.org/
           NBRC Coverage Area: Addison, Orange, Rutland and Windsor Counties
           Contact: Peter Gregory, Executive Director
           (802)457-3188 or pgregory@trorc.org

A listing of Local Development Districts around the Country can be found at the websites of our sister Commissions: the Delta Regional Authority and the Appalachian Regional Commission