State Economic & Infrastructure Development Investment Program

Economic Infrastructure Grant Programs:


State Economic & Infrastructure Development Investment (SEID) Program

          Established by Congress in 2008, the Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) is a partnership between the federal government and the States of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. The mission of the NBRC is to fund economic development and infrastructure projects throughout designated counties in its four-state service area. The governance of the NBRC is based on the Appalachian Regional Commission model created in the 1960s.

          The NBRC partnership provides investments to job-creating projects that help reduce poverty, unemployment, and outmigration. NBRC investment funds originate from the Federal Government but are approved by the Federal Government’s NBRC representative (Federal Co-Chair) and the Governors of the four States.

          The NBRC partnership is aided by recognized Local Development Districts (LDD) that assist with technical assistance, provide information on complimentary funding opportunities for projects, and ensure consistency with administration of projects that are funded.

For more detailed information and the SEID Program Overview please click here

About the NBRC's 2021 SEID Investment Program

  • Approximately $4.6 MM for each State
  • Up to a $1,000,000 maximum award to eligible infrastructure projects, up to a $350,000 maximum award for all other types of eligible projects
  • All funds are in the form of reimbursement for eligible expenses incurred after a Notice to Proceed has been fully executed
  • 2021 Application materials made available March 8, 2021
  • 2021 Letters of Interest (strongly encouraged) due March 26, 2021
  • 2021 Applicants due May 14, 2021


Commission Service Area (updated yearly)

Only projects within the NBRC’s service area are eligible for funding under 40 U.S.C. §15733.


For 2021, the NBRC service area is:

  • Maine: Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington counties.
  • New Hampshire: Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Coös, Grafton, and Sullivan counties
  • New York: Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Orleans, Oswego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Seneca, Sullivan, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Yates counties.
  • Vermont: all counties within the State

Eligible Applicants
The NBRC Economic and Infrastructure funding is available to:

  • State governments of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York
  • Local governments (village, town, city and county)
  • Other political subdivisions of States (regional planning commissions, authorities of the state)
  • Indian Tribes; § 200.54 Indian tribe (or “federally recognized Indian tribe”). Indian tribe means any Indian tribe, band, nation, or other organized group or community, including any Alaska Native village or regional or village corporation as defined in or established pursuant to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act ( 43 U.S.C. Chapter 33), which is recognized as eligible for the special programs and services provided by the United States to Indians because of their status as Indians ( 25 U.S.C. 450b(e)). See annually published Bureau of Indian Affairs list of Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services
  • Non-profit entities. The term ‘nonprofit entity’ means any organization described in section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and exempt from taxation under 501(a) of that Code. The non-profit entity must be able to demonstrate they have federal grant experience and organization capacity related to economic development.

Inelgible Applicants

  • Ineligible applicants include for-profit entities, LLCs and other entities that are not a 501(c), 40 U.S.C. §15101(c). Ineligible entities are also those entities normally deemed eligible but, due to prior federal or state funding history have been identified as ineligible for future investments. Additionally, a non-profit identified by a state that does not have a federally recognized 501(c) status is not an eligible applicant.. 

Decision making process is...

Consensus between the four State Governors and the Federal Co-Chair based on applications being prioritized by the States.  State economic development plans influence decision-making as does the NBRC’s Five Year Strategic Plan.


Who has received SEID investment funds in the past?

You can find a listing of funding recipients by year on each State page: MaineNew HampshireVermont, and New York.

For more detailed information and the SEID Program Overview please click here for 2021 SEID FAQs click here